top of page
  • Writer's pictureFida Zourob

Society of Diplomats

The Model UN society at Haifa University; an international program for diplomacy, international relations, and most desirable skills for the future workforce

#HaifaUniversity #HaiMUN2016 #Diplomats #MUN Model United Nations, also known as Model UN or MUN, is an educational simulation or academic activity in which students can learn about diplomacy, international relations, and a simulation of the United Nations, where students play the role of delegates from different countries and attempt to solve real world issues with the policies and perspectives of their assigned country. For example, I participated in an international conference at Munster University at Germany and I been assigned as Poland in the committee for UN Women, which is an entity working for the empowerment of women and gender equality.



HaiMUN 2016

I remember my first MUN conference at Haifa University like it was yesterday. Standing before me were smart diplomatic people from the best universities and colleges of Israel, some were international students, and many of the students were studying either a B.A or M.A Degree's mainly in Political Science topics, Law, English etc.. that made me feel nervous as I came with no knowledge from my field or degree. Studying a Multidisciplinary Degree, I did not think anyone expected much of me, but seemed that many thought I was doing my second degree in an international relations topic. I was learning very fast and growing into the topics which needed to be knowledgeable with, I've soon learnt the rules of the game, and grew confident into it.


In the past if I had to get up to speak I would be shaking, and couldn’t make eye contact. I would have been embarrassed and lacked quality in my speech. From that I have grown as a MUN delegate. Now I can speak with ease in front of large crowds, this has made me a more confident person in committee, the classroom, different crowds and has helped my over all self-esteem.



Influence on Workforce

Model UN is a fast-growing competitive activity for many students, but to a great deal of us, it means something more. Model UN has helped us grow into leaders, discover our futures, become confident in ourselves, and form lasting friendships with people from all over the world. This is my top 10 skills which Model UN has assisted me to grow and foster:

  • Research

  • Creativity

  • Negotiation

  • Public speaking

  • People management

  • Coordinating with others

  • Judgment and decision making

  • Cognitive flexibility

  • Social and emotional intelligence

Overall, Model UN allows students to develop diverse skills and widens their opportunities to practice the different and desirable skills for the future workforce.


Comments


Commenting has been turned off.
bottom of page