top of page
  • Writer's pictureFida Zourob

Delegation to Germany

Our diplomatic journey from the University of Haifa to Germany, taking part of international conferences, interviews with journalists, and visitation of Anne Frank museum.



Journey for Diplomats

I was not surprised when I was chosen to take part of an International Delegation to Germany for representing our University, although getting such a chance was only for the best students in our Model UN class, and although there were so many intelligent students surrounding me, but still had the amazing chance to be selected along with 4 other talented students, starting with Jennifer a political science major student, Dagan an Economy major, Saleem and Francis both studying Law, this amazing diversity only added to make the trip along with them much more interesting.


UN Women Committee

The international conference has many committees and each one of us had to choose which committee to be in, obviously so expected of me to choose the UN Women committee, I wouldn't have allowed this chance not to be taken and be used for representing women and empowering them, even with no real power of making real life changes, I believe I had the chance to at least be raising awareness for important issues, and that itself is not to be considered less than part of the change.


At first I chose to represent the UK, but I got selected to represent Poland in that committee, it might not be the country I wanted to represent at the start, but Poland was not so bad to represent when concerning women rights topics, did you know that Poland was among the first nations to grant women legal rights!? that gave me some power in my committee and a lot to say to other countries, while leading and cooperating with more than 8 delegates into our own resolution for the United Nation simulation.


Interviews and Public Relations


After 5 long and tiring days of endless conferences including night social events, we still had 2 more busy days to go. Next day we went to the nearest coffee shop of our hotel to meet with this young woman from the German Friends Association of Haifa University. The German Friend had everything ready and set for us, interviews for their German newspapers. After we had 2 German newspapers interviews, we were told that we are going to visit a museum in Frankfurt together, only when we got there I have realized it was Anne Frank's Museum. We waited behind the door, a young intelligent woman comes out, with a scarf on her head, my friends were bit surprised, I wasn't as much! after all, that young woman grew up in Germany where she was taught present cultural values for raising awareness about the topics of holocaust and Anne Frank story, and I have to admit that even I.. did not know Anne's story until that day.


Comments


Commenting has been turned off.
bottom of page